Since the beginning of this school year I have been proud of how much my drumming skills improved. This Prep year was my opportunity to get better at it before my lessons got harder. I still have a lot of time to improve and with this improvement maybe I can make it into our school band.

I also started learning classical music percussion and how to properly control the power of my hits. I want to learn classical music percussion because I think it’s pretty interesting and somewhat requires skill to follow a conductor and hit at the right time. There is no such a thing as missing a note in classical music. If you do it will sound very weird and unnecessary and because percussion is rhythm the whole orchestra can mess up.

In this process my drum teacher from a music school was improved. He arranged a nice studio with a spectacular drum set. I’ll attach a picture of the drum set in the studio below. I really like it, it has a lot of pieces to play with. Of course in this process practice was really important because in the beginning of this school year I already knew how to play drums but my teacher pushed my limits to make me better and I know that i won’t succeed if i don’t practice.

This accomplishment will be a plus when I want to apply to University. Universities look at grades but they also look at your social accomplishments and drumming will attract their attention if I can get to a certain level. Also in high school I can get in talent shows or just music performances which will increase my social activity and stage experience.  IMG-20160106-WA0003